The earliest records show a church on this site in the twelfth century built by Geoffrey de Clinton sometime between 1100 and 1135. Geoffrey or his successor later made over the manor of Hughenden including the church to the priory of Kenilworth and it seems that the monks established a small priory in what is now Church House.
In 1870 the church was in a very bad state of repair, and the vicar, Canon Blagden, with considerable financial help from his father-in-law, James Searight, set about rebuilding it. At that time the church consisted of the original chancel, a small chapel and bell tower added in the thirteenth century and a nave, about half the length of the current one, added later.
The Chancel is the remaining part of the originalchurch. During the Victorian extension works in the 1870s, its floor was raised and redone with beautiful ceramic tiles, the roof altered and the walls painted. The Chancel and the rest of the interior was cleaned and restored in 1993-1994. In the process, the grapevine design and the gold altar outline were rediscovered and painstakingly restored, having been covered in dark red paint and curtaining.
Benjamin Disraeli, Earl of Beaconsfield, is commemorated in many parts of the church but the principal memorial is on the North side of the chancel. The memorial in the chancel is unique in that it is the only example of a memorial in a parish church erected by a reigning sovereign to one of her subjects. The Banner and Insignia of the Order of the Garter which hang beside the memorial were removed from St George’s Chapel, Windsor, to their present position at the express wish of Queen Victoria.
The Pulpit, a memorial to James Searight, dominates the nave, and is decorated with angels and archangels: the Archangel Michael, the angel of the Annunciation, the angel of the Revelation of St John, and the Archangel Raphael.
The font is early English, probably the original one made for the church when Geoffrey de Clinton built it. In accordance with ancient custom, it is large enough for a baby to be baptized by immersion. The panels show traces of pigment suggesting they may at one time have been painted.
Various items in the church were paid for by the Hughenden Memorial Fund, in memory of Disraeli, including the Organ and the murals in the chancel. The mural shown on the here depicts the Christ child seated on Mary’s lap with Joseph standing, surrounded by the kings bearing gifts.
The Disraeli tomb in the churchyard is a large crypt containing the remains of a number of members of the Disraeli family. It was finally sealed when the last member of the family was buried there in 1967. For the Earl’s funeral a cutting was dug from the line of the present hedge to the door of the crypt enabling the bearers to carry the coffin right into the crypt.